top of page
  • Writer's pictureedwu91

Camera Review: Sony A6500

Updated: Sep 11, 2021

There's lots of ways to take pictures in the backcountry. I did a bunch of research before settling on my adventure camera. This was back in Sept 2018. now a few years later on, it's still a good choice in my opinion, but other makes and models are coming closer.


I'm going to describe the parameters I looked at when settling on a camera for the backcountry. This is opinion and if I have gotten anything wrong, please let me know and I'll be happy to review my comments.


Sony A6500 with kit lens


Size

This section compares the various sensor sizes and their tradeoffs. The three sizes I looked at are 1", APS-C and 35mm (Full Frame). In each case, I am looking at mirrorless systems because having a reflex adds no value in the backcountry (hence why I didn't include DSLR). I picked a small subsample of cameras at each sensor size and this is only meant to be a guideline. It doesn't mean that the technology is the same for every camera with that sensor size.


Looking at the table above, the best sensor for night time photography is without a doubt the Sony A7S. It has a massive pixel so will allow you to gather way more light than any other camera listed. The resolution doesn't matter that much as 12MP composed will will look amazing on pretty much any personal device.


If you are producing a video, then I would go with a Full Frame high resolution camera. You'll need the extra pixels when things get blown up onto a larger print or screen.

That said, if you aren't going for amazing night time photography or professional level cinematography, my recommendation is the APS-C camera system for 2 reasons. The nighttime imaging is acceptable, and the lens system is much more affordable and lighter. For that reason I went with an APS-C camera system.

One of the reasons why I chose not to go with the 1" cameras is because I found the image quality good, but smartphone tech is closing that gap quickly. Smartphones have multi-sensors at different focal lengths (this competes with 1" sensor fixed lenses), AI engines that help reduce artifacts from aspherical elements and folded lenses, and a whole lot more processing capabilities than 1" sensors, that if all you are doing is sharing on social media platforms, then I wouldn't even bother with 1" cameras. Also the night mode employed by many smartphones takes away a lot of image processing you'd need to do on your own to get a decent picture. There's still a place for 1" cameras as it still produces acceptable raw images and some employ features like super slo motion, but I found it was hard to justify buying..


Misc Technology:

There's a bunch of technology that is baked into cameras that are great for backcountry. Image stabilization, stacked sensors, Backside illumination on-board processing, PDAF, self cleaning lens, slow mo imaging, panorama, tilt screen, expanded ISO, etc.


I think that image stabilization, PDAF, and BSI are the more important features to have. Composing pictures when you are freezing cold, in an awkward position, moving, subject is moving all point to those features having an important role to play when dialing down the shot.


Comparison between Sony APS-C models:

When I purchased the A6500, there were only 3 models available A6000, A6300, and A6500. Now there is A6100, A6400, and A6600.

Here's a link that compares all the variants.

I ended up choosing the A6500 because of the burst shooting capabilities and Image stabilization.


Imaging Performance:

This is a function of the lens attached to the camera. What you really want to look at are a couple parameters. Modulation Transfer Function (MTF) and Quantum Efficiency (QE).

MTF helps define the effective resolution of the camera system. Most lenses have MTF issues around the edges. Imagine trying to draw a circle (lens) around a rectangle (sensor). There will be points which are further away from the edges of the circle and those areas will have much different imaging performance. Additionally, the image plane that is produced by a lens is not planar, it's somewhat curved so even if you have the focus at inf and you are using the smallest aperture size, you'll still get part not in focus. Use MTF to help guide which lens you buy. This is why I have issues with non-interchangeable lenses. You are stuck with the default lens.


QE, which is almost never published, is how good the sensor is at converting photons to electrons. Things like color filters, metalization, and pixel structure can impinge on an incoming photon being converted into an electron. My rule of thumb is BSI sensors are better than FSI sensors, a true monochrome camera is much better than color camera (filter doesn't block incoming light); however, since we all want color images, that is not something we can remove... Yet.


The only APS-C cameras that I know of that have BSI are Fuji XT-2 or newer cameras. They also use a different color filter array (X-Trans rather than Bayer or QuadBayer). I like these cameras, but found lenses were really expensive and the aftermarket solutions limited. I would go for a Fuji XT-2 camera if you have lots of money to spend. Blog post I've read "claim" they also reproduce more realistic color through the X-Trans filter. The argument is that there is always one R, G, and B photosite for every row and column.


The new trend it seems is to have sensors with with RGBC color filter (Red, Green, Blue, no filter). This would allow AI engines to then reconstruct image brightness for a well composed scene. When a BSI RGBC sensor comes out, I'll probably upgrade my camera system.


Handling

Long story short, the Sony mirrorless aps-c cameras are really pocket sized interchangable lens cameras. There's now some Canon cameras that are close, but lack a EVF. The EVF also has a removeable extended eye-piece which further reduces the size of the camera. I personally use the EVF a lot while ski touring in sunny conditions. The screens just aren't bright enough yet.


Lens availability:

After playing around with several different lens types here are the lenses I would bring for the following types of scenarios:

The image above is my default setup. Sony A6500 with SEL18200 and UV filter.


Skiing:

Sony 16-50mm pancake + UV filter. - carry in thinkthank hip pocket pouch.

Sony 18-200mm + UV filter - carry in hip strap camera bag OR using adapted go-pro chest mount. See below.

Mountaineering:

Sony 18-200mm + UV filter - carry in hip strap camera bag

Sony 16mm f2.8 - carry the lens in backpack for nighttime photography. Would prefer the Sigma 16mm f1.4 as it's a faster lens.


Climbing:

Sony 18-200mm + UV filter

- really helps user express their creativity. Isolate the climber, show the whole scene. The zoom capabilities are important.


In sunny conditions, I replace the UV filter with a Circular Polarizer.


Durability:

So far, the camera and lenses have stood up to the abuse I've put them through. The actual camera body itself is quite rugged and the only point where there might be issues nothing has happened yet. I always have at a minimum a UV filter to protect the lens.


Summary:

Recap of everything, I bought the Sony A6500 because:

- Small interchangible lens system

- Body is small enough that it can be carried without impeding your sport

- Relatively affordable lens system

- Imaging capability makes it hard for Smartphone cameras to compare against.

- Good for high quality images that are not meant for enlarging, or cinematography

- on camera image stabilization

- 4k video

24 views1 comment

1 comentário


edwu91
edwu91
25 de jan. de 2021

I will say when I wrote this review, I only really took a snapshot of cameras that were available when I purchased the A6500. Fuji and Canon both make really good cameras that I'd love to try out and compare against one day!

Curtir
bottom of page